Back to Website

How to build ROS from now on

Got a ReactOS tutorial to share? Drop it in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

How to build ROS from now on

Postby EmuandCo » Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:54 pm

Since I got dozens of questions why the old way of building ROS does not work anymore...
Read this: http://www.reactos.org/development/build-environment
Just typing make wont work anymore.
Image
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.
EmuandCo
Developer
 
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby hbelusca » Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:52 am

Here is a description for how to compile ReactOS with our latest build environment, RosBE v2.1.

1- Download our latest RosBE environment: http://www.reactos.org/development/build-environment

2- Open RosBE - Build Environment (command-line) and work in it for the following steps.

3- In some directory, say in C:\sources\reactos, download the content of http://svn.reactos.org/svn/reactos/trunk/reactos/ (via SVN you must checkout the repository svn://svn.reactos.org/reactos/trunk/reactos into C:\sources\reactos). If you want also to be able to compile our tests as well as our "ros-apps", please also checkout svn://svn.reactos.org/reactos/trunk/rosapps and svn://svn.reactos.org/reactos/trunk/rostests into C:\sources\rosapps and C:\sources\rostests respectively, and add into C:\sources\reactos\modules a hardlink pointing to C:\sources\rosapps and/or a hardlink pointing to C:\sources\rostests .

Therefore, you obtain the following directory tree:
Code: Select all
C:\sources
    +------> reactos
    |           +------> <some directories and files>
    |           +------> modules
    |                       +------> <hardlink_to_rosapps>
    |                       +------> <hardlink_to_rostests>
    +------> rosapps  (optional)
    +------> rostests (optional)


4- Create another directory where the build files will be output, say: C:\rosbuild .

5- Being in C:\rosbuild, type:
Code: Select all
C:\sources\reactos\configure Ninja
which configures the build (and creates some files and directories inside C:\rosbuild).

6- After the previous step being done, and in case of success, go to the directory: C:\rosbuild\host-tools and execute:
Code: Select all
ninja all
Then go to C:\rosbuild\reactos and execute:
Code: Select all
ninja all
(just to compile all ReactOS), or
Code: Select all
ninja bootcd
(to compile all ReactOS if needed and to create a bootcd), or
Code: Select all
ninja livecd
(same as before, but for creating the livecd).

All the previous commands can be executed at once, being in C:\rosbuild, by entering at the command-line:
Code: Select all
cd host-tools && ninja all && cd ..\reactos && ninja bootcd
for example.

7- Enjoy !!
hbelusca
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby Mna. » Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:35 am

Notes for build on Unix/Linux.
Since configure.sh script doesn't change directory to host-tools, do as follows:

Start RosBE shell, (from Linux Desktop ) and there run:

This part run only once for each new full checkout/RosBE version update:
Code: Select all
./configure.sh
cd output-MinGW-i386/host-tools && ninja all

And this part for recurring rebilds of ReactOS:
Code: Select all
cd output-MinGW-i386/reactos && ninja bootcd


./configure.sh without parameters by default will run for "Ninja" version
Mna.
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:13 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby fLuXx » Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:34 am

Great tutorial, thanks. BTW, you should at least update the wiki saying the make thing doesn't work, if you don't have time to type the whole tutorial.
fLuXx
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 11:42 am

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby Z98 » Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:58 am

So this is why people keep linking to the completely out of date wiki pages..................

Links changed to point to drupal pages.
Z98
Release Engineer
 
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby Mna. » Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:14 pm

Z98 wrote:So this is why people keep linking to the completely out of date wiki pages..................

Possibly they are out if date, but they are editable by more than one man, in case of errors or need of update will it be arisen

And besides that, are these Drupal pages linked from somewhere?
Mna.
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:13 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby Z98 » Sun Aug 11, 2013 12:09 am

There's a menu option on the front page on the left hand side labeled Development.

Considering how they remained out of date despite being 'editable' by anyone, the usefulness of them being on the wiki is questionable.
Z98
Release Engineer
 
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby Mna. » Sun Aug 11, 2013 9:13 pm

Z98 wrote:Considering how they remained out of date despite being 'editable' by anyone

It's not surprising for me, I think the whole reactos project suffers from resource scarcity, I mean few developers, testers, involved persons in general...
Z98 wrote: the usefulness of them being on the wiki is questionable.


Being editable by wiki is just an opportunity, it would be of use is someone would like to document something.
I updated some wiki pages, was renewing them, but that's not option for many.. alas.
Mna.
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:13 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby jonaspm » Fri Sep 06, 2013 3:29 am

This one was way more clear than the one found in News section. :)
Image
jonaspm
 
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 1:10 am
Location: Mexico

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby eersoy93 » Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:57 pm

Note: Don't Use TortoiseSVN 1.8.x to done of configuring for now. Use 1.7.13.

For see: http://reactos.org/archives/public/ros-dev/2013-July/016220.html

NOTE: Also, My TortoiseSVN 1.8.2 is broken.
Turkish translator of ReactOS.
eersoy93
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby UnderDog » Thu Jan 09, 2014 1:04 am

Thanks finally made it to work i had problems with the svn had to replace it with slik svn i hope to start developing on reactos really soon!
UnderDog
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:08 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby eersoy93 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 9:33 pm

eersoy93 wrote:Note: Don't Use TortoiseSVN 1.8.x to done of configuring for now. Use 1.7.13.

For see: http://reactos.org/archives/public/ros-dev/2013-July/016220.html

NOTE: Also, My TortoiseSVN 1.8.2 is broken.


Can I use updated Tortoise SVN now for done of configuring? See: http://jira.reactos.org/browse/ONLINE-400
Turkish translator of ReactOS.
eersoy93
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby eersoy93 » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:32 pm

eersoy93 wrote:
eersoy93 wrote:Note: Don't Use TortoiseSVN 1.8.x to done of configuring for now. Use 1.7.13.

For see: http://reactos.org/archives/public/ros-dev/2013-July/016220.html

NOTE: Also, My TortoiseSVN 1.8.2 is broken.


Can I use updated Tortoise SVN now for done of configuring? See: http://jira.reactos.org/browse/ONLINE-400


I can use TSVN 1.8.8 with RosBE 2.1.1 without problems.
Turkish translator of ReactOS.
eersoy93
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby joao.jeronimo.89 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 3:11 pm

Hei.

Is there a way to create the reactos installation directory directly from the source? I mean, some command which is equivalent to the former "make install" that used to exist in the time of RBuild...

João Jerónimo
joao.jeronimo.89
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:23 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Postby gonzoMD » Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:08 pm

joao.jeronimo.89 wrote:Hei.

Is there a way to create the reactos installation directory directly from the source? I mean, some command which is equivalent to the former "make install" that used to exist in the time of RBuild...

João Jerónimo


Code: Select all
ninja
will build everything

Code: Select all
ninja bootcd
will build everything and create a bootcd

Code: Select all
ninja livecd
will build everything and create a livecd
gonzoMD
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 7:49 am
Location: Germany

Next

Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests