How to build ROS from now on

Got a ReactOS tutorial to share? Drop it in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4140
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

How to build ROS from now on

Post by EmuandCo » Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:54 pm

Since I got dozens of questions why the old way of building ROS does not work anymore...
Read this: http://www.reactos.org/development/build-environment
Just typing make wont work anymore.
Image
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

hbelusca
Developer
Posts: 1006
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by hbelusca » Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:52 am

Here is a description for how to compile ReactOS with our latest build environment, RosBE v2.1.

1- Download our latest RosBE environment: http://www.reactos.org/development/build-environment

2- Open RosBE - Build Environment (command-line) and work in it for the following steps.

3- In some directory, say in C:\sources\reactos, download the content of http://svn.reactos.org/svn/reactos/trunk/reactos/ (via SVN you must checkout the repository svn://svn.reactos.org/reactos/trunk/reactos into C:\sources\reactos). If you want also to be able to compile our tests as well as our "ros-apps", please also checkout svn://svn.reactos.org/reactos/trunk/rosapps and svn://svn.reactos.org/reactos/trunk/rostests into C:\sources\rosapps and C:\sources\rostests respectively, and add into C:\sources\reactos\modules a hardlink pointing to C:\sources\rosapps and/or a hardlink pointing to C:\sources\rostests .

Therefore, you obtain the following directory tree:

Code: Select all

C:\sources
    +------> reactos
    |           +------> <some directories and files>
    |           +------> modules
    |                       +------> <hardlink_to_rosapps>
    |                       +------> <hardlink_to_rostests>
    +------> rosapps  (optional)
    +------> rostests (optional)
4- Create another directory where the build files will be output, say: C:\rosbuild .

5- Being in C:\rosbuild, type:

Code: Select all

C:\sources\reactos\configure Ninja
which configures the build (and creates some files and directories inside C:\rosbuild).

6- After the previous step being done, and in case of success, go to the directory: C:\rosbuild\host-tools and execute:

Code: Select all

ninja all
Then go to C:\rosbuild\reactos and execute:

Code: Select all

ninja all
(just to compile all ReactOS), or

Code: Select all

ninja bootcd
(to compile all ReactOS if needed and to create a bootcd), or

Code: Select all

ninja livecd
(same as before, but for creating the livecd).

All the previous commands can be executed at once, being in C:\rosbuild, by entering at the command-line:

Code: Select all

cd host-tools && ninja all && cd ..\reactos && ninja bootcd
for example.

7- Enjoy !!

Mna.
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:13 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by Mna. » Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:35 am

Notes for build on Unix/Linux.
Since configure.sh script doesn't change directory to host-tools, do as follows:

Start RosBE shell, (from Linux Desktop ) and there run:

This part run only once for each new full checkout/RosBE version update:

Code: Select all

./configure.sh
cd output-MinGW-i386/host-tools && ninja all 
And this part for recurring rebilds of ReactOS:

Code: Select all

cd output-MinGW-i386/reactos && ninja bootcd
./configure.sh without parameters by default will run for "Ninja" version

fLuXx
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 11:42 am

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by fLuXx » Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:34 am

Great tutorial, thanks. BTW, you should at least update the wiki saying the make thing doesn't work, if you don't have time to type the whole tutorial.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by Z98 » Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:58 am

So this is why people keep linking to the completely out of date wiki pages..................

Links changed to point to drupal pages.

Mna.
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:13 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by Mna. » Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:14 pm

Z98 wrote:So this is why people keep linking to the completely out of date wiki pages..................
Possibly they are out if date, but they are editable by more than one man, in case of errors or need of update will it be arisen

And besides that, are these Drupal pages linked from somewhere?

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by Z98 » Sun Aug 11, 2013 12:09 am

There's a menu option on the front page on the left hand side labeled Development.

Considering how they remained out of date despite being 'editable' by anyone, the usefulness of them being on the wiki is questionable.

Mna.
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:13 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by Mna. » Sun Aug 11, 2013 9:13 pm

Z98 wrote:Considering how they remained out of date despite being 'editable' by anyone
It's not surprising for me, I think the whole reactos project suffers from resource scarcity, I mean few developers, testers, involved persons in general...
Z98 wrote: the usefulness of them being on the wiki is questionable.
Being editable by wiki is just an opportunity, it would be of use is someone would like to document something.
I updated some wiki pages, was renewing them, but that's not option for many.. alas.

jonaspm
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 1:10 am
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by jonaspm » Fri Sep 06, 2013 3:29 am

This one was way more clear than the one found in News section. :)
Image

eersoy93
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by eersoy93 » Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:57 pm

Note: Don't Use TortoiseSVN 1.8.x to done of configuring for now. Use 1.7.13.

For see: http://reactos.org/archives/public/ros- ... 16220.html

NOTE: Also, My TortoiseSVN 1.8.2 is broken.
Turkish translator of ReactOS.

UnderDog
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:08 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by UnderDog » Thu Jan 09, 2014 1:04 am

Thanks finally made it to work i had problems with the svn had to replace it with slik svn i hope to start developing on reactos really soon!

eersoy93
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by eersoy93 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 9:33 pm

eersoy93 wrote:Note: Don't Use TortoiseSVN 1.8.x to done of configuring for now. Use 1.7.13.

For see: http://reactos.org/archives/public/ros- ... 16220.html

NOTE: Also, My TortoiseSVN 1.8.2 is broken.
Can I use updated Tortoise SVN now for done of configuring? See: http://jira.reactos.org/browse/ONLINE-400
Turkish translator of ReactOS.

eersoy93
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by eersoy93 » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:32 pm

eersoy93 wrote:
eersoy93 wrote:Note: Don't Use TortoiseSVN 1.8.x to done of configuring for now. Use 1.7.13.

For see: http://reactos.org/archives/public/ros- ... 16220.html

NOTE: Also, My TortoiseSVN 1.8.2 is broken.
Can I use updated Tortoise SVN now for done of configuring? See: http://jira.reactos.org/browse/ONLINE-400
I can use TSVN 1.8.8 with RosBE 2.1.1 without problems.
Turkish translator of ReactOS.

joao.jeronimo.89
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:23 pm

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by joao.jeronimo.89 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 3:11 pm

Hei.

Is there a way to create the reactos installation directory directly from the source? I mean, some command which is equivalent to the former "make install" that used to exist in the time of RBuild...

João Jerónimo

gonzoMD
Posts: 991
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 7:49 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How to build ROS from now on

Post by gonzoMD » Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:08 pm

joao.jeronimo.89 wrote:Hei.

Is there a way to create the reactos installation directory directly from the source? I mean, some command which is equivalent to the former "make install" that used to exist in the time of RBuild...

João Jerónimo

Code: Select all

ninja
will build everything

Code: Select all

ninja bootcd
will build everything and create a bootcd

Code: Select all

ninja livecd
will build everything and create a livecd

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests