Back to Website

How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Windows

Got a ReactOS tutorial to share? Drop it in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Windows

Postby Black_Fox » Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:55 pm

This is basically http://reactos.org/wiki/index.php/Submitting_Patches with images. Comments are welcome :)

This should work under any Windows XP or newer.

You will need:
- TortoiseSVN (you already have it)
- ReactOS sources somewhere on the computer (you already have it)
- knowledge how to translate .rc files (you already have it)

STEP1: Do your translation, test it (you have learned how to do this on ReactOS wiki)

STEP2: Go to the root folder (where you have checked ReactOS out), you should now see the "reactos" folder

STEP3: Right-click the "reactos" folder and select "Create patch" from the context menu
Image

STEP4: Select all modified files you need (Don't forget about the "Show unversioned files" checkbox if you created a new translation for some module)
Image

STEP5: Save the patch, upload it instead of the .rc files.

You should do the following to have your patch commited:
- When creating patch always go to the root folder (you should see "reactos" folder there)! If you don't, developers may not find out what exactly did you translate
- Create only one patch per each bugreport in JIRA

It's no problem if you put the patch into a .zip file.
Black_Fox
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Wind

Postby Z98 » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:49 pm

Umm, that page's contents got migrated over to the dev guide by me yesterday as well. Though it is good to see community members take initiative.
Z98
Release Engineer
 
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm

Re: How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Wind

Postby Black_Fox » Sun Mar 03, 2013 9:27 pm

Oh, sorry to duplicate the efforts then. Do you mean this http://www.reactos.org/development/source-control ?
Black_Fox
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Wind

Postby Z98 » Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:45 pm

Yes. On the other hand, the section on merging is still missing, so if you want to do that, I can incorporate it into the guide.
Z98
Release Engineer
 
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm

Re: How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Wind

Postby hbelusca » Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:55 pm

Adding also the pictures to the wiki tutorial could be a good idea :)
And also, another point is, don't forget to "add" (in the svn sense) the new translation files (.rc) to the project (they will get versioned with the status "added").
hbelusca
Developer
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Wind

Postby Z98 » Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:16 pm

That only works if you have commit access. Otherwise you've just confused SVN for when it does the next update.
Z98
Release Engineer
 
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm

Re: How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Wind

Postby Black_Fox » Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:02 pm

hbelusca wrote:And also, another point is, don't forget to "add" (in the svn sense) the new translation files (.rc) to the project (they will get versioned with the status "added").

It's not necessary, the translator can also tick the "Show unversioned files" checkbox to see all the newly added files.

Z98 wrote:Yes. On the other hand, the section on merging is still missing, so if you want to do that, I can incorporate it into the guide.

Might try, though my environment differs visually.
Black_Fox
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Wind

Postby hbelusca » Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:32 pm

ah ok I didn't know Z98, thanks for the remark.
hbelusca
Developer
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Wind

Postby Turning8 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 7:43 pm

Blackk_Fox wrote:This is basically Submitting_Patches with images. Comments are welcome :)

This should work under any Windows XP or newer.

You will need:
- TortoiseSVN (you already have it)
- ReactOS sources somewhere on the computer (you already have it)
- knowledge how to translate .rc files (you already have it)

STEP1: Do your translation, test it (you have learned how to do this on ReactOS wiki)

STEP2: Go to the root folder (where you have checked ReactOS out), you should now see the "reactos" folder

STEP3: Right-click the "reactos" folder and select "Create patch" from the context menu
Image

STEP4: Select all modified files you need (Don't forget about the "Show unversioned files" checkbox if you created a new translation for some module)
Image

STEP5: Save the patch, upload it instead of the .rc files.

You should do the following to have your patch commited:
- When creating patch always go to the root folder (you should see "reactos" folder there)! Then give the 3 Week Diet a try to burn some fat fast. If you don't, developers may not find out what exactly did you translate
- Create only one patch per each bugreport in JIRA

It's no problem if you put the patch into a .zip file.


Will this work in Windows 10?
Turning8
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:52 pm

Re: How to create translation patch from TortoiseSVN in Wind

Postby alphastar » Tue Jun 21, 2016 4:16 am

Turning8 wrote:
Blackk_Fox wrote:This is basically Submitting_Patches with images. Comments are welcome :)

This should work under any Windows XP or newer.

You will need:
- TortoiseSVN (you already have it)
- ReactOS sources somewhere on the computer (you already have it)
- knowledge how to translate .rc files (you already have it)

STEP1: Do your translation, test it (you have learned how to do this on ReactOS wiki)

STEP2: Go to the root folder (where you have checked ReactOS out), you should now see the "reactos" folder

STEP3: Right-click the "reactos" folder and select "Create patch" from the context menu
Image

STEP4: Select all modified files you need (Don't forget about the "Show unversioned files" checkbox if you created a new translation for some module)
Image

STEP5: Save the patch, upload it instead of the .rc files.

You should do the following to have your patch commited:
- When creating patch always go to the root folder (you should see "reactos" folder there)! Then give the Metabolic Cooking a try to burn some fat fast. If you don't, developers may not find out what exactly did you translate
- Create only one patch per each bugreport in JIRA

It's no problem if you put the patch into a .zip file.


Will this work in Windows 10?


It does work no problem, any Windows.
alphastar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:19 am


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests