Back to Website

Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Got a ReactOS tutorial to share? Drop it in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby Davy Bartoloni » Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:11 pm

MODERATOR NOTE: THIS TUTORIAL IS OUTDATED WITH THE RECENT CHANGES TO REACTOS

Bartoloni, are you able to update this to the new codebase?

original ITA topic: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=6402

the original boot bitmap wal located here: sourceunit:\trunk\reactos\ntoskrnl\inbv\logo\5.bmp ( if u have downloaded then source code via TortoiseSVN on root of SOURCEUNIT )
and.. is this:
Image
215x147 pixels , 16 colors ( bitmap )

i have made an alternative-Bitmap: ( that can be used .. by ---> Save Image As... from the web browser. )
Image
150x275 Pixels , 16 colors ( bitmap )

replace the original 5.bmp ( located on sourceunit:\trunk\reactos\ntoskrnl\inbv\logo )
with this one...

and now.. a little change to C code ( for setting position of bitmap on BOTTOM of screen during the Startup )
the code was located here: sourceunit:\trunk\reactos\ntoskrnl\inbv\inbv.c
Image

at the end of code there is:
Code: Select all
  {
        /* Is the boot driver installed? */
        if (!InbvBootDriverInstalled) return;

        /* FIXME: TODO, display full-screen bitmap */
        Bitmap = InbvGetResourceAddress(5);
        if (Bitmap)
        {
            PBITMAPINFOHEADER BitmapInfoHeader = (PBITMAPINFOHEADER)Bitmap;
            ULONG Top, Left;

            Left = (640 - BitmapInfoHeader->biWidth) / 2;
            if (BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight < 0)
                Top = (480 - BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight) / 2;
            else
                Top = (480 - BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight) / 2;
            InbvBitBlt(Bitmap, Left, Top);
        }
    }


just change this line: Top = (470 - BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight);

Code: Select all
  {
        /* Is the boot driver installed? */
        if (!InbvBootDriverInstalled) return;

        /* FIXME: TODO, display full-screen bitmap */
        Bitmap = InbvGetResourceAddress(5);
        if (Bitmap)
        {
            PBITMAPINFOHEADER BitmapInfoHeader = (PBITMAPINFOHEADER)Bitmap;
            ULONG Top, Left;

            Left = (640 - BitmapInfoHeader->biWidth) / 2;
            if (BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight < 0)
                Top = (480 - BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight) / 2;
            else
                Top = (470 - BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight);
            InbvBitBlt(Bitmap, Left, Top);
        }
    }


the new line is: Top = (470 - BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight);

now.. just type: MAKE NTOSKRNL in the RosBE console...
the compiled Kernel will be located on : sourceunit:\trunk\reactos\output-i386\ntoskrnl

now.. just replace the original NTOSKRNL.EXE with this one.. launch ReactOS .. and...

Image

:)

p.s.

look at the code.. there is a NEGATIVE-HEIGHT-TEST that DON'T DRAW the IMAGE if the HEIGHT WAS NEGATIVE

Code: Select all
     if (BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight < 0)
                Top = (480 - BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight) / 2;
            else
                Top = (480 - BitmapInfoHeader->biHeight) / 2;
                InbvBitBlt(Bitmap, Left, Top);


Davy Bartoloni.
Last edited by Davy Bartoloni on Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Davy Bartoloni
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Cuneo

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby vicmarcal » Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:06 pm

As all ur tutorials,really really nice ;)...I love explanations about code :D..as u did.
Image
vicmarcal
Test Team
 
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby Davy Bartoloni » Thu Jan 08, 2009 12:58 am

THX!..

Vic.. there is a way to download the "old -Source code" ? ( for example .. reactos 0.26 )
Davy Bartoloni
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Cuneo

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby Black_Fox » Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:30 am

I'm not vicmarcal, but either way... yes, there are source code packages along other means of distribution on SourceForge project page.
Black_Fox
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby Davy Bartoloni » Thu Jan 08, 2009 2:29 am

thank you Black fox!
Davy Bartoloni
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Cuneo

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby Davy Bartoloni » Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:34 am

Used new Boot-Logo on ReactIT update ( http://www.wcn.it/reactIT.exe )
Image
Davy Bartoloni
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Cuneo

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby Nintendo Maniac 64 » Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:22 am

Is there a link to download the default boot logo in its original 24 bit color?
Nintendo Maniac 64
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby gabrielilardi » Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:55 am

Nintendo Maniac 64 wrote:Is there a link to download the default boot logo in its original 24 bit color?


This is the logo and this the one used in the bootscreen.
gabrielilardi
Moderator Team
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:30 am
Location: Italy

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby Nintendo Maniac 64 » Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:33 am

Thanks, but I just realized... what's up with the funky resolution for the boot logo? Typical Windows boot logos are 640x480...
Nintendo Maniac 64
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby gabrielilardi » Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:38 am

Nintendo Maniac 64 wrote:Thanks, but I just realized... what's up with the funky resolution for the boot logo? Typical Windows boot logos are 640x480...


It's a hack, ntoskrnl should support a black paletted bootscren but it doesn't, so the logo is drawn as a picture instead of the whole screen.
gabrielilardi
Moderator Team
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:30 am
Location: Italy

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby Nintendo Maniac 64 » Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:41 am

All I wanted to do was run the logo through the (awesome) Scolorq dithering algorithm in Ximagic and see if I can get a higher quality result.

Image

I used a filter size of 3 and a dithering level of 10/100 - anything higher than 10 looked IMO too speckled when blown up to larger sizes.

...oddly enough, the result only used 14 colors instead of 16 - maybe something to do with the dither level of only 10?
Nintendo Maniac 64
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby Saurabh » Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:29 pm

I just downloaded the code via svn from TortoiseSVN

I tried your tutorial but my inbv.c file doesn't look like yours.
please help me.
Saurabh
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:21 pm

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby Davy Bartoloni » Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:17 am

Saurabh wrote:I just downloaded the code via svn from TortoiseSVN

I tried your tutorial but my inbv.c file doesn't look like yours.
please help me.


this is a very old tutorial :( you can find some more information (12-2009) on reactit sources http://www.wcn.it/reactit_src_013.7z ( for an animated boot logo )
Code: Select all
AnimazioneX[0]=2; AnimazioneY[0]=58;
AnimazioneX[1]=21; AnimazioneY[1]=50;
AnimazioneX[2]=41; AnimazioneY[2]=44;
AnimazioneX[3]=60; AnimazioneY[3]=39;
AnimazioneX[4]=81; AnimazioneY[4]=37;
AnimazioneX[5]=101; AnimazioneY[5]=36;
AnimazioneX[6]=121; AnimazioneY[6]=39;
AnimazioneX[7]=142; AnimazioneY[7]=44;
AnimazioneX[8]=161; AnimazioneY[8]=50;
AnimazioneX[9]=180; AnimazioneY[9]=58;
AnimazioneX[10]=199; AnimazioneY[10]=65;
AnimazioneX[11]=219; AnimazioneY[11]=72;
AnimazioneX[12]=239; AnimazioneY[12]=75;
AnimazioneX[13]=259; AnimazioneY[13]=79;
AnimazioneX[14]=280; AnimazioneY[14]=79;
AnimazioneX[15]=300; AnimazioneY[15]=77;
AnimazioneX[16]=320; AnimazioneY[16]=72;
AnimazioneX[17]=340; AnimazioneY[17]=67;
AnimazioneX[18]=359; AnimazioneY[18]=59;

Image
but recently the reactos-boot code was hardchanged and i have no time to look to it.
Image
Davy Bartoloni
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Cuneo

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby boyercam » Thu Aug 19, 2010 4:18 pm

I made a animated loading gif.
Image
boyercam
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:10 pm

Re: Changing the startup "Boot LOGO"

Postby anon746874642 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 10:53 am

it looks like windows 7
anon746874642
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 4:26 pm


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest