Back to Website

Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Got a ReactOS tutorial to share? Drop it in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby MadnessRed » Fri Apr 10, 2009 3:59 pm

In windows you have a simple bat file to run to load up ReactOS in Qemu. In Ubuntu, you have to go through a lot more. here is a basic tutorial to get ReactOS running in Ubuntu, without you having to go through terminal every time you want to use it.
Image

//First you need QEMU, if you don't already have it here is how to get it.
[*] Click "System" > "Administration" > "Symnaptic Package Manager"
[*] Type in you root password. If you are the Admin and you aren't sure, try typing in your own password as often it is the same.
[*] Select "All"
[*] Type "qemu" and you will go to in the list. There should be a plain white square, click on it, not that if it is green then you already have QEMU so you can just skip to next instruction.
//Next you may want kqemu accelerator.
[*] Type in kqemu, and then select kqemu-common in the same way that you selected qemu.
//Now apply the changes
[*] Click the green tick that says apply.
[*] A window appears, change nothing and press apply again.
[*] Let it install, once its finished close down Symnaptic

//Now for those who already have qemu, Join us here.
Image
[*] Select "System" > "Preferences" > "Main Menu"

[*] Select the folder where you want to create the link

Image
[*] Select "New Item"

Image
[*] Where it says command type in the following.
Code: Select all
qemu -m 1024 -hda '[path-to-reactos-qemu-folder]/files/ReactOS.vdmk


Image
[*] To check that you have done that correctly either open terminal or press Alt+F2 and type in you code and press enter. If QEMU run then you did it right. If you get an error or it doesn't work then check you code again, if you still can't get it to work then please post and I will try and help.
Image

Image
[*] Now add the name an optionally a comment. The comment will show when you hover over the item with the mouse.

[*] If you want to set up an icon the next few screens show you have to get one from the ReactOS site. Simply go to the link in the screen, save the image. Then in the "New Item" dialogue, click on the image in the top left, click "Browse", browse to where you saved the icon and the select open. note that this browse window will only show the folders and not the files. You will get a list of images in the folder, select the one you want and press ok.
Image
Image
Image
Image

Image
[*] You have now set up the icon. To run qemu then you can very simply just click on the item in the start menu. Should save time with going through terminal.
Image

This is my first tutorial so please go easy on me :) I hope the images have uploaded correctly too.

May thanks to everyone at ReactOS for a great OS.

MadnessRed.
MadnessRed
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby Witch » Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:04 pm

Thanks MadnessRed I like it when people do this kind of tutorials/pictorials. Maybe it's time for me to re-install Ubuntu again it's been 3 years since I used the brown distro.
Witch
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:30 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby MadnessRed » Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:31 pm

Witch wrote:Thanks MadnessRed I like it when people do this kind of tutorials/pictorials. Maybe it's time for me to re-install Ubuntu again it's been 3 years since I used the brown distro.


the brown distro, never heard it called that before. I have been using Ubuntu since 7.04, 9.04 is out in 15 days :), apparently its quite good.
MadnessRed
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby coldReactive » Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:02 am

MadnessRed wrote:
Witch wrote:Thanks MadnessRed I like it when people do this kind of tutorials/pictorials. Maybe it's time for me to re-install Ubuntu again it's been 3 years since I used the brown distro.


the brown distro, never heard it called that before. I have been using Ubuntu since 7.04, 9.04 is out in 15 days :), apparently its quite good.


Yes, it's sounding very good, they say ATI Support has been improved a lot in 9.04, but we'll see.
coldReactive
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby Haos » Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:36 am

@OP

Wow... you do like screenshots...
Haos
Test Team
 
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby MadnessRed » Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:45 pm

Iyeru wrote:
MadnessRed wrote:
Witch wrote:Thanks MadnessRed I like it when people do this kind of tutorials/pictorials. Maybe it's time for me to re-install Ubuntu again it's been 3 years since I used the brown distro.


the brown distro, never heard it called that before. I have been using Ubuntu since 7.04, 9.04 is out in 15 days :), apparently its quite good.


Yes, it's sounding very good, they say ATI Support has been improved a lot in 9.04, but we'll see.


I never noticed it being particularly bad, I have ATi 3850. I get better 3D Mark running under Wine in Linux than Windows.

Haos wrote:@OP

Wow... you do like screenshots...

yh, sorry, maybe a few too many.
MadnessRed
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby Haos » Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:48 pm

Its ok with me:>
Haos
Test Team
 
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby Witch » Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:08 pm

Next step is to make one of those Screencasts, however I've always preferred flipping through html picture tutorials than looking at videos. But maybe less tech people like my mother's generation would appreciate Screencasts more than my own preferences. When ReactOS becomes mature in the future people who doesn't play with computers for fun might need these kind of tools and aids.

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/ScreencastTeam/FAQ#Screencasts
Isn't a text how-to guide good enough?

Many people find they learn better by seeing how something looks than by reading a text description.


Adding screenshots to a how-to guide should be enough?

A video can often show a lot more detail than a series of screenshots. It isn't easy to demonstrate for example a conversation on IRC, dragging and dropping, or 3D desktop effects with screenshots alone.
Witch
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:30 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby MadnessRed » Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:14 am

Witch wrote:Next step is to make one of those Screencasts, however I've always preferred flipping through html picture tutorials than looking at videos. But maybe less tech people like my mother's generation would appreciate Screencasts more than my own preferences. When ReactOS becomes mature in the future people who doesn't play with computers for fun might need these kind of tools and aids.

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/ScreencastTeam/FAQ#Screencasts
Isn't a text how-to guide good enough?

Many people find they learn better by seeing how something looks than by reading a text description.


Adding screenshots to a how-to guide should be enough?

A video can often show a lot more detail than a series of screenshots. It isn't easy to demonstrate for example a conversation on IRC, dragging and dropping, or 3D desktop effects with screenshots alone.


personally I prefer Macromedia Captivate :), however I couldn't get it working on linux.
MadnessRed
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby coldReactive » Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:43 am

MadnessRed wrote:personally I prefer Macromedia Captivate :), however I couldn't get it working on linux.


Wink (tutorial software)
coldReactive
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby MadnessRed » Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:45 am

coldReactive wrote:
MadnessRed wrote:personally I prefer Macromedia Captivate :), however I couldn't get it working on linux.


Wink (tutorial software)


lol that didn't exist how ever many years ago when I tried to install captivate :)
thanks for the link.
MadnessRed
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Put ReactOS in the start menu - Linux

Postby linuxguy666 » Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:04 am

Here's a VirtualBox version: (also KDE-idifed)

  • Right click the KDE LOGO in the taskbar.
  • Add a new item under System. (call the item like this: ReactOS)
  • Type in the command box:
    Code: Select all
    VBoxSDL -startvm ReactOS
  • Save the changes to the menu.
  • Make sure that a VM called ReactOS is set up in VirtualBox. (Rename your ROS VM "ReactOS" or modify the "ReactOS" part in the command box of the menu item if needed)

I have tested this. (NO jokes)
linuxguy666
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:18 pm


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest