ReactOS wont install on my computer

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

ReactOS wont install on my computer

Postby DMBoricua » Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:14 am

Simply I do what I have to do, I put the install CD on the CD ROM and boot from it. When it loads the installation, I see the "Select language" screen, but it freezes. When I do a hard boot, it keeps doing the same thing.

I tried out the Live CD boot disc. When its loading up, it quickly says could not verify NTFS system or something like that, and the screen just goes black. :evil:

I havent had problems installing other linux distros on computers. It so happens that this particular one wont install how it should be. Anyone got any ideas?? :?:
DMBoricua
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:04 am

Re: ReactOS wont install on my computer

Postby SdC » Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:42 am

DMBoricua wrote:
I havent had problems installing other linux distros on computers. It so happens that this particular one wont install how it should be. Anyone got any ideas?? :?:

ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.

Download a trunk build instead of 0.3.4 and try again (and next time if you ask a question, please say which version/build you are using)
SdC
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: GMT +1

Postby GoBusto » Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:24 am

Your problem is a known one - ReactOS 0.3.4 Stable had a bug that caused problems with keyboard/mouse when running on real hardware. This issue has been fixed in the trunk.

You can obtain trunk builds here: http://www.reactos.org/getbuilds/

PS: ReactOS isn't a Linux distro.
GoBusto
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK

Postby Haos » Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:49 am

ReactOS isn't a Linux distro.

ReactOS is a clone of NT operating system. It`s in ALPHA stage, this means PROBLEMS.

Please use VM for testint ROS atm. If you for some reason need/want to test it on real hardware, you need two PCs, both with serial ports. Then you connect them with null modem cable and use debug version. This way you can obtain debug log, which is necessary for checking on what is going wrong and why it doesnt work.
Haos
Test Team
 
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am

Postby tsvetan_banchev888 » Thu Mar 20, 2008 3:51 pm

Please use VirtualBox for testint ROS
http://www.virtualbox.org/
tsvetan_banchev888
 

Postby EmuandCo » Thu Mar 20, 2008 4:56 pm

Well. Or QEmu or VMWare.

And I dont want to see this Smiley once more from you: :evil:

ReactOS is Alpha Stage Software as everyone can read at the first Page, so these Bugs CAN AND WILL occur.
EmuandCo
Developer
 
Posts: 2960
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld

Postby DMBoricua » Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:27 pm

Oh ok, now I undestand what ReactOS is.

I ran ReactOS using QEMU on my Windows machine.

So yeah, looking forward for this OS in the future, I know its going to be great and functional. Thanks for the help. :D
DMBoricua
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:04 am

Postby EmuandCo » Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:22 am

No Problem. We are here for ppl asking us stuff ;-)
EmuandCo
Developer
 
Posts: 2960
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld

Postby tsvetan_banchev888 » Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:24 am

Please use only VirtualBox for testint ROS
http://www.virtualbox.org/
tsvetan_banchev888
 

Postby elhoir » Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:53 am

ReactOS crashes on VirtualBox, but works fine under Qemu or VMWare

EDIT (BETTER): crashes on all VM systems, as ReactOS is in alpha stage yet, but it runs more flawlessly under Qemu or VMWare
elhoir
Test Team
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: ReactOS wont install on my computer

Postby FlyingIsFun1217 » Fri Mar 21, 2008 8:08 am

SdC wrote:ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.
ReactOS is NOT a Linux distro.


I don't get it. Could you be a little clearer?

FlyingIsFun1217 :)
FlyingIsFun1217
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:56 am


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests