creating an operating sytem(im not a programmer)

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, drop it in here. (not to be used as a chat/nonsense section)

Moderator: Moderator Team

mrgoogle

creating an operating sytem(im not a programmer)

Post by mrgoogle »

i heard some people saying that some ditros are based on ubuntu, some are on arch linux; whats the difference on where its based from, does it make faster and more stable (and even steve jobs said that iphone operating system is based on OSX) ? and that being said where is reactos based from??
Konata

Re: creating an operating sytem(im not a programmer)

Post by Konata »

An operating system is usually defined by the software suite that composes of it. iOS and OS X are both based on Darwin. I'm not sure how similar they are beyond that.
Linux distros aren't special, they're all the same thing. What usually defines those are the package managers. Every fork of Ubuntu or Arch is just that with some tweaks for convenience sake. Both Xubuntu and Manjaro literally exist for the sake of not having to install Xfce, which is one command.

ReactOS isn't based on anything, it's written from scratch. This is stated on the front page of the website.

You don't have to know how to program to appreciate how an operating system is put together. It's just a simple logical diagram, some components do some things and others do other things, that's all. You could read the Wikipedia article of the Windows NT architecture, which the ReactOS team also had to painstakingly recreate in ReactOS. NT's architecture is extremely complex, it's probably the most advanced operating system in the world.
PurpleGurl

Post by PurpleGurl »

Architecturally, ROS is based on Windows 2003. In terms of coding, it is fresh code except for parts that belong to other projects such as Wine, UniATA, LwIP, etc.
mrgoogle

Post by mrgoogle »