MS secretly updates your windows xp install

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, drop it in here. (not to be used as a chat/nonsense section)

Moderator: Moderator Team

calande
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 4:57 pm

Post by calande » Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:16 pm

I know. This is stupid. That alert pops up at any time and if you're typing, it'll click the "OK" button, then when you look at the screen again, Windows is rebooting. I have lost my work several times :evil:

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos » Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:47 pm

If this reboot is due to Windows Update, you just need to kill the automatic update service. All nagging should be gone. It works on XP/2003, i dont know if it would work with Vista.

tomleem
Posts: 628
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: New Hampshire of United States of America
Contact:

running Vista

Post by tomleem » Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:20 pm

I have Vista on my Acer Aspire 3050. I will check to see if I can stop it. I have read that there are those who have clicked do not update but it updates anyway. It says it has to reboot for the updates to take effect. :cry:
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Tom Lee M / BigGoofyGuy
* * * * * * * * * * * * *

calande
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 4:57 pm

Post by calande » Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:28 pm

Hum...If we were in 2010, I would say ditch Vista and use Reactos :P

tomleem
Posts: 628
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: New Hampshire of United States of America
Contact:

2010?

Post by tomleem » Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:02 pm

2010? Something to look forward to. :lol:
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Tom Lee M / BigGoofyGuy
* * * * * * * * * * * * *

betaluva
Posts: 424
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 1:33 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by betaluva » Thu Dec 20, 2007 11:33 pm

why does microsoft think people want a 200 megabyte update for office 2007? that would be fun on dial up - NOT!

Reacter
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 9:57 pm
Location: Tornado Alley

Post by Reacter » Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:15 pm

*** Shudders, and goes into convulsions ***
200 MB ... too much, too much ...
Simple strategy to get Vista to do what you want:
taskkill /IM SYSTEM
or:
destroy (through taskmgr.exe) every process that looks like an updater ...
More ReactOS, please!

betaluva
Posts: 424
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 1:33 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by betaluva » Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:04 pm

i found a easyer solution, dont use office 2007 or windows blista (err i mean vista ) :lol:

nicekiwi9
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 2:16 am

Post by nicekiwi9 » Sat Dec 29, 2007 2:40 pm

What updates dose MS do exactly in the silent stealthy way, and how have they been caught doing it?

Sounds like their hunting WGA Pirates! except everyone is a pirate until they prove otherwise!

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:58 pm

windows xp update is around 500MB or more.
why do u not offer a new iso for d/l or a iso with all updates on.

and I think u buy windows ms should send home a DVD or CD with all update to each person that buy a windows licen under whole life cycle of windows each time it comes. and even new install cd with all update each year.

nicekiwi9
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 2:16 am

Post by nicekiwi9 » Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:06 pm

XP has SP3 out atm and u can integrate the SP's into ur XP installation disks,

When it officially comes out it updates all previous fixes, Ive just installed it after a fresh SP2 install. and no updates are avcalible :D its 100% upto-date

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:44 pm

think of normal people does not known how.
less how to run windows update.

MS should take more active roll here.
and send home cd/DVD each time it comes new update
and instructions how to install it.

for us that known windows nt well it is not so much problem create new iso with all update.

nicekiwi9
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 2:16 am

Post by nicekiwi9 » Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 pm

The Auto-update dose OK for most people tho, just turns on wen u install and runs in the background, helps u if it needs it too..

artguy10
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:20 am

Post by artguy10 » Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:28 am

Instead of losing your work because of windows, just install linux! the updates there (and with Mac) aren't automatic and don't often destroy your OS.

nicekiwi9
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 2:16 am

Post by nicekiwi9 » Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:05 pm

artguy10 wrote:Instead of losing your work because of windows, just install linux! the updates there (and with Mac) aren't automatic and don't often destroy your OS.
How ever the said updates avrage at about 300 - 400MB and speeds that cant compete with MS's speeds.

On average when I first update linux it will go from 1KB or less to 12KB/p, my connection is Full speed, no restrictions or caps.

Update time for MS is about 10 - 20mins for the SP updates. Linux however is about 1 - 3 hours just to download them.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests