RosBE 1.2 for Windows Released.

ReactOS related news

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
dralnix
Developer
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 6:43 pm

RosBE 1.2 for Windows Released.

Post by dralnix » Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:38 am

RosBE 1.2 for windows was released today. It is a small update to include Bison/Flex and Patch. In the future Bison and Flex will be required tools for building ReactOS (they are not currently). Patch has been added for convenience.

There are a couple other updates as well, as follows:
- Subversion was bumped to version 1.4.6.
- NASM was bumped to version 2.01.
- Couple other minor things, see the changelog for details.

You can find the release on sourceforge as usual.

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos » Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:55 pm

Would it be possible to issue this bison/flex patch for ROSBE 0.3.6? I cant use 1.x version, as it uses ccache, which somehow cannot be disabled on my Win2003 Server desktop, and it slows the building process so it takes twice as long.

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4357
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:00 pm

Haos. Did you try the options.exe to disable it? If this does not help, tell me. I will make you a batch file fully without ccache options.
Image
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

dralnix
Developer
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 6:43 pm

Post by dralnix » Thu Jan 24, 2008 11:54 pm

Haos, simply delete the folder APPDATA\RosBE. Then install 1.2 or if it's already installed close any running RosBE prompts then delete the folder and rerun it, ccache will no longer be used. It is not on by default. You must have a left over settings file in APPDATA\RosBE for this to happen (but uninstalling v1.1 removes this folder as well so it's probably gone already).

reckless
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 9:39 pm

Post by reckless » Mon Mar 24, 2008 9:46 pm

ported the cygwin build of ccache to mingw seems to work ok tho a bit heavy on the cpu :lol: very fast build times.

if you want to include it in rosbe is there anywhere i can upload it to ?.

and new guy btw :wink: old game coder but is kinda fun to dabble in OS sources to :)

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos » Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:45 pm

We should switch to Nasm 2.02:>

reckless
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 9:39 pm

Post by reckless » Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:14 am

old assembler seems to work ok but i allready use 2.02 :wink:

patched ccache with the rosbe patches btw and cleaned it a bit :)

#define mkdir(a,b) mkdir(a) :?: :!: :twisted:
removed this and others and added the win32 counterparts where it was used
with a few defines erm clean :lol:

oh and a HACK!

Code: Select all

#ifdef _WIN32
int fchmod(int fildes, mode_t mode)
{
	DWORD  flOldProtect;

	if (!VirtualProtect((LPVOID)fildes, mode, PAGE_READWRITE, &flOldProtect)) {
		return -1;
	}
    return 0;
}
closest i could come to this on windows seems to work fine tho :wink: it dies gracefully if the cache is write protected :)

reckless
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 9:39 pm

Post by reckless » Tue Mar 25, 2008 2:48 am

whoops scrap the code above :oops: think i got a lil gnuified win32 allways has write access so no use setting this bit.

sorry :(

well atleast it works quite well now and compiles on ming with no warnings :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest