Testing ReactOS: Debbuging

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

reactosuser7

Testing ReactOS: Debbuging

Post by reactosuser7 »

To show debbuging info when testing aplications and drivers,

Is it necesary to use only bootcd-xxxxx-dbg.7z and/or livecd-xxxxx -dbg.7z ISO image from Trunk Builds download site?
https://www.reactos.org/getbuilds

Or it is necesary to use ReactOS Build Environment (RosBE) ?

I had read the article but it is not so clear for me:

https://reactos.org/wiki/Debugging#Real ... rial_cable

https://www.reactos.org/wiki/Testing_Introduction

It says it is necesary to compile ReactOS first.
But in the upper page says it can be done with latest builds form Trunk Builds.

I just giving my first steps to be a ReactOS apps tester.

The idea is to produce the same debbuging info as posted in JIRA.

Sorry if the question is obvious.
I have no experience in doing such things.
middings

Re: Testing ReactOS: Debugging

Post by middings »

The ReactOS Wiki page named "Debugging" is difficult to understand.
It is almost an example of a recursive tutorial. (To understand a recursive tutorial, you must already understand the tutorial when you begin the tutorial.) :lol:

ReactOS Forum member oldman wrote a helpful web page of 'layman's guide' debugging articles.
Here is a direct link to oldman's article "A layman's guide - How to get a debug log."