ReactOS 0.4.11 (Daily) Congratulations and Issues

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Bikhumahtre

ReactOS 0.4.11 (Daily) Congratulations and Issues

Post by Bikhumahtre »

First, I must give a heartfelt congratulations to the ReactOS team for a spectacular update. After trying the stable version of ReactOS 0.4.9 on Virtual Box, I was always unsuccessful in getting it to run.

Now, after recently testing the daily build of 0.4.11 on Virtual Box it installed effortlessly. I was surprised too as I wasn't sure my hardware could even support it, with my CPU being the lowly and obscure FX 6350 from AMD.

From there I played around with the operating system, and it was like a blast to the past for me. I know ReactOS can be considered the equivalent to Windows 2000 and Windows XP, and it was fun playing around with the iconic drivers and programs I used to use.

Everything ran smoothly, until I started playing Youtube videos however. Whether it's the OS's fault or the Browser (Firefox 48), videos lacked sound and were difficult to run on higher resolutions. This culminated in the total crashing of the system, after I attempted to turn the resolution down on one video to 480p.

Therefore, I believe an important fix for 0.4.12 would be to remedy these issues. It would allow ReactOS to be a lot more useable for general browsing, at the very least. I understand that the lack of sound is already an issue that will be fixed, and I cannot wait to play with the software again in the near future. Perhaps even make it my main OS on another computer, as crazy as it sounds ;).

Congratulations once again to the ReactOS team for their undying effort to bring Windows to the masses, free, open source and without draconian spyware!.
dizt3mp3r

Re: ReactOS 0.4.11 (Daily) Congratulations and Issues

Post by dizt3mp3r »

Bikhumahtre wrote: Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:11 am It would allow ReactOS to be a lot more useable for general browsing, at the very least.