Suggestion: Add program statuses like Wine in Tests page

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
ctasan
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:02 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Suggestion: Add program statuses like Wine in Tests page

Post by ctasan » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:10 pm

For test pages in Wiki, we currently have this ranks for apps: Works, run w/o result, failed, not tested.
Until a compatibility database comes in, we should use ranks like Wine, for example:

Platinum: Runs out-of-the-box without errors
Gold: Runs flawlessly with some configuration or workarounds
Silver: Runs with minor issues (e.g glitches, minor loss of functionality)
Bronze: Runs with major issues (e.g major drawing errors, crashes, unusable sections)
Garbage: Does not set up or crashes in startup, reproducably hangs the OS, causes corruption or system mess, runs but there is no or little functionality as intended

Rank names might change (e.g out-of-the-box, requires workaround, minor issues, major issues, unusable), or we may directly use Wine system.

My Wiki powers are limited, so Wiki work is up to you. Let's get this with the smallest discussion-war possible.

NOTE: We should start with 0.4.12.

Quim
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 11:45 pm

Re: Suggestion: Add program statuses like Wine in Tests page

Post by Quim » Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:19 am

ctasan wrote:
Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:10 pm
For test pages in Wiki, we currently have this ranks for apps: Works, run w/o result, failed, not tested.
Until a compatibility database comes in, we should use ranks like Wine, for example:

Platinum: Runs out-of-the-box without errors
Gold: Runs flawlessly with some configuration or workarounds
Silver: Runs with minor issues (e.g glitches, minor loss of functionality)
Bronze: Runs with major issues (e.g major drawing errors, crashes, unusable sections)
Garbage: Does not set up or crashes in startup, reproducably hangs the OS, causes corruption or system mess, runs but there is no or little functionality as intended

Rank names might change (e.g out-of-the-box, requires workaround, minor issues, major issues, unusable), or we may directly use Wine system.

My Wiki powers are limited, so Wiki work is up to you. Let's get this with the smallest discussion-war possible.

NOTE: We should start with 0.4.12.
Good idea ctasan. :idea:

jimtabor
Developer
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm

Re: Suggestion: Add program statuses like Wine in Tests page

Post by jimtabor » Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:20 pm


ctasan
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:02 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Re: Suggestion: Add program statuses like Wine in Tests page

Post by ctasan » Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:34 pm

jimtabor wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:20 pm
Do you mean this?

https://reactos.org/wiki/Testing_Central
No, I mean tests for release X page, for example: https://reactos.org/wiki/Tests_for_0.4.11

We should start with 0.4.12.

oldman
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: Suggestion: Add program statuses like Wine in Tests page

Post by oldman » Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:47 pm

ctasan wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:34 pm
No, I mean tests for release X page, for example: https://reactos.org/wiki/Tests_for_0.4.11

We should start with 0.4.12.
The author of that page is Reactosfanboy, so don't go upsetting him.
Please keep the Windows classic (9x/2000) look and feel.
The layman's guides to - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - with some complementary scripts.
They may help you with a problem, so do have a look at them.

ctasan
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:02 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Re: Suggestion: Add program statuses like Wine in Tests page

Post by ctasan » Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:48 pm

For example, a user named Shadowsvanish recently added templates for issues (Regression, Blocker, Major, Minor, BugFix) and entirely re-formatted 0.4.11 tests page. Eventually, issues for each program are not a total mess anymore. This work was done without any major conflicts, and reactosfanboy should be more happier than ever with a tidy page.
We need that kind of work again. Just someone creates templates for table, and when tests for 0.4.12 start, replaces the program statuses.

ctasan
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:02 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Re: Suggestion: Add program statuses like Wine in Tests page

Post by ctasan » Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:32 pm

I have done the work myself, after figuring out the way.

* Added a general Version Tests page and linked it to Main Page.
* Added new templates: Minor issues and Major issues.
* Added a quite basic guide into Version Tests page.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests