Boot Android x86 through Freeloader

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
julenuri
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 6:36 pm

Boot Android x86 through Freeloader

Post by julenuri »

Hi!
I have installed Android x86 in one partition thinking on having a dual boot with ReactOS, but I tried to put the typical:

Code: Select all

[Androidx86]
BootType=Linux
BootDrive=hd0
BootPartition=4
Kernel=/android-4.0-RC1/ramdisk.img
I tried changing everything and specifying the initrd.img and changing ramdisk.img to the "kernel" file...
But I get nothing.

So... How can I solve this? Thanks you really much.
hbelusca
Developer
Posts: 1204
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Boot Android x86 through Freeloader

Post by hbelusca »

julenuri wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2019 1:38 pm Hi!
I have installed Android x86 in one partition thinking on having a dual boot with ReactOS, but I tried to put the typical:

Code: Select all

[Androidx86]
BootType=Linux
BootDrive=hd0
BootPartition=4
Kernel=/android-4.0-RC1/ramdisk.img
I tried changing everything and specifying the initrd.img and changing ramdisk.img to the "kernel" file...
But I get nothing.

So... How can I solve this? Thanks you really much.

Code: Select all

Kernel=/android-4.0-RC1/ramdisk.img
This is not the kernel you specified, but the Initrd.
You need to know the name of the linux kernel file you want to boot (let's say it's called vmlinuz and is inside /android-4.0-RC1/), and the associated initrd file, which appears to be /android-4.0-RC1/ramdisk.img . Then the correct entry for freeloader would be:

Code: Select all

[Androidx86]
BootType=Linux
BootDrive=hd0
BootPartition=4
Kernel=/android-4.0-RC1/vmlinuz
Initrd=/android-4.0-RC1/ramdisk.img
See https://git.reactos.org/?p=reactos.git; ... b=HEAD#l96 for more details.
julenuri
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 6:36 pm

Re: Boot Android x86 through Freeloader

Post by julenuri »

But vmlinuz doesn't exist in the Android x86 main file. So... I'm so confused.
User avatar
binarymaster
Posts: 481
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Re: Boot Android x86 through Freeloader

Post by binarymaster »

julenuri wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2019 7:19 pm But vmlinuz doesn't exist in the Android x86 main file. So... I'm so confused.
It's up to you to find out where the kernel is located. :lol:
User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4722
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: Boot Android x86 through Freeloader

Post by EmuandCo »

No clue if that helps, but: http://newandroidbook.com/tools/imgtool.html This could be your way to get vmlinuz off from ramdisk.img
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

If my post/reply offends or insults you, be sure that you know what sarcasm is...
julenuri
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 6:36 pm

Re: Boot Android x86 through Freeloader

Post by julenuri »

I have tried to reinstall every OS again, and in Android x86
(inside of the /grub) I have a Grub with this info in menu.lst

Code: Select all

default=0
timeout=6
root (hd0,2)
splashimage=/grub/android-x86.xpm.gz

title Android-x86 4.0-r1
        kernel /android-4.0-r1/kernel quiet root=/dev/ram0
androidboot.hardware=eeepc acpi_sleep =s3_bios,s3_mode SRC=/
android-4.0-r1
        initrd /android-4.0-r1/initrd.img

title Android-x86 4.0-r1 (Debug mode)
        kernel /android-4.0-r1/kernel root=/dev/ram0
androidboot.hardware=eeepc acpi_sleep=s3_bi
os,s3_mode DEBUG=1 SRC=/android-4.0-r1
        initrd /android-4.0-r1/initrd.img
So... How can I "translate" this info to Freeloader?
Is it possible?
I thought it could be possible.

If I can't, how can I get GRUB from Freeloader.
User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4722
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: Boot Android x86 through Freeloader

Post by EmuandCo »

Try:
Kernel=/android-4.0-r1/kernel
Initrd=/android-4.0-r1/initrd.img

Maybe it works, maybe not. If not you have both inside the ramdisk.img which needs to be extracted. Running Grub from Freeloader is possible but I don't know how.
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

If my post/reply offends or insults you, be sure that you know what sarcasm is...
julenuri
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 6:36 pm

Re: Boot Android x86 through Freeloader

Post by julenuri »

I tried, but it doesn't work...

I'm little disappointed because I don't know anything of developing and I don't understand why this isn't functional. I wish I could solve it.

One little bug to take in care is that if I click in "Android x86" with this configuration, screen blinks, and Freeldr starts again, but "Open hive failed" appears in the Screen when you try to access again to ReactOS.

And if I try to copy the Command Line from the grub, it gets stuck in Loading Android x86 and... Nothing happened. So another bug?

My ReactOS is in BTRFS so... I don't know if this should have any relationship. Or the system could find the partition easyly if both of them (Android and ReactOS) works in the same format.

With this Freeldr I was able to boot Windows 7.

EDIT: Trying booting the 3rd partition like Grub, (boottype partition) I get this: "invalid boot sector magic (0xaa55)"
User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4722
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: Boot Android x86 through Freeloader

Post by EmuandCo »

In this case it's impossible to boot Android with Freeldr. (My opinion, open for other ideas)
Android is far away from being a Linux these days. At least in some parts, like here.
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

If my post/reply offends or insults you, be sure that you know what sarcasm is...
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests