Replace Windows DLLs with ReactOS DLLs?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

mattst88

Replace Windows DLLs with ReactOS DLLs?

Post by mattst88 »

I remember something about replacing Windows DLLs with ReactOS DLLs for testing. Is there any information on this? Is there a list of feature-complete DLLs?
Tachikoma_Pilot

Post by Tachikoma_Pilot »

dll's as in drivers? i seem to be missing the point ..... :oops:
jason.b.c

Post by jason.b.c »

Tachikoma_Pilot wrote:dll's as in drivers? i seem to be missing the point ..... :oops:
Yes you are if you don't understand what a DLL is ..!! Dynamic.Link.Library
Tachikoma_Pilot

I know what a dll is ..... duh im a programmer, :shock: i fail to c the logic in the nature of the request and also a dll can be many things a device driver a system file a link to a particular software library ..... so still im lost!
Wierd

Post by Wierd »

I could see the benefit of doing so in the framework of blackbox testing.

Windows is a very large, and very complex "Blackbox", on which you place a "Replacement prototype" component, then evaluate the results.

EG, One could write some DirectX-like libraries, then place them on a windows machine, and overwrite the native libraries, then perform functionality and compatibility tests, and then go over the results.

This would effectively 'eliminate' the need to fully develop all the other prerequisite services in EG, ReactOS, to be able to test the DDRAW or DirectSound libraries. I happen to know that GreatLord does this very thing. (Make libraries and test them on Windows for compliance, without having to write, EG--- a DirectSound compliant device driver, implement various kernel services, et al)