collaboration with Longhorn reloaded?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Robby

collaboration with Longhorn reloaded?

Post by Robby »

Could collaboration between ReactOS and Longhorn reloaded bring something interesting? http://longhorn-reloaded.org/
Haos
Test Team

Post by Haos »

The legal issues arise here, as the code is still valid Ms property. Reloaded guys call it Abandonware, alas there is no such legal status. I`ll ask Fireball about it and try to get some official statement out of him:).
Robby

Post by Robby »

The legal issues could also be a reason for them to switch to Reactos. If I was a Longhorn programmer I would rather take some steps back and build my one code on a legal ReactOS Core than, then put all my effort in something that is doomed to be born dead.

Of course some of the existing code of Longhorn may have to be rewrited for legal reasons. But then there would be a solid base for the future. It could give ReatOS also an extra push. They seem to have some good programmers ...
Phobos

Post by Phobos »

good programmers?.... exactly what did they program?

and, anyways, this was already posted not long ago... http://www.reactos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3959
Ged
Developer

Post by Ged »

We don't want anything to do with Longhorn reloaded.

You can't break the Windows IP in the way, it's illegal.
cppm

Post by cppm »

one concurs - they look like exactly the kind of code kiddies that RoS doesn't need

btw - why can't I quote?
GreatLord
Developer

Post by GreatLord »

lock the thread for longhorn-reload is clear it is illeagle
mf
Developer

Post by mf »

If they had the source code it might be interesting. But all they're doing is UI hacking an alpha build of longhorn. Even though they have one "developer" I'm sure he's not digging in any of the actual system components. Stuff like KernelEx and 98 Revolutions pack, now *that's* interesting.
It compiles, let's ship it!
forart

Post by forart »