processor overload

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Gedi

processor overload

Post by Gedi » Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:51 pm

I downloaded a copy of bochs with the react image built in, ran it and when it got to the install screen, the proc hit 100% usage.

It was so busy, I could hardly move the mouse. I left it for 10 mins or so and then gave up.

Any ideas?

seibertjd
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 8:05 pm

Post by seibertjd » Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:54 pm

Bochs is slower than a crippled turtle. If you're on Linux I think you can use QEMU (I can't remember). VMWare is pretty good, but ROS is still pretty slow on it.

Gedi

Post by Gedi » Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:00 am

but this was so slow it was totally unusable.
Surely is shouldn't be like that,

Gedi

Post by Gedi » Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:04 am

Ran QEMU and all is now fine :)

seibertjd
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 8:05 pm

Post by seibertjd » Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:07 am

I've never had Bochs run fast enough to do anything for me. Like I said, it's bloody slow...

Gedi

Post by Gedi » Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:09 am

Which is the quickest?
Would I be better running vmware?

GvG
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by GvG » Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:35 am

Gedi wrote:Which is the quickest?
Would I be better running vmware?
VMware is faster than QEmu, but the difference between VMware and QEmu is not as big as the difference between QEmu and Bochs

uniQ
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:58 am

Post by uniQ » Sat Dec 04, 2004 9:35 am

VMware is also graphical and easy to setup and run, but it's commercial soft and expensive.

Also, be sure you change the memory setting before you try to start a VMachine or it will crash you up! Also SETI doesn't like it or vice versa.

-uniQ
Coming on, coming up, let me help ROS and I'll be able to look @ a life well used.

ConMan
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 7:37 am

Post by ConMan » Sun Dec 05, 2004 7:40 am

Ya, I tried Boch and it wouldn't even install ReactOS, but QEMU would install and it worked. QEMU runs it pretty slow, so I tried VMware and it does a good job, but isn't free. Stay away from VirtualPC by Microsoft. If you are serious about running other operating systems under windows, I think VMware is like $70 which isn't just too bad.

Gedi

Post by Gedi » Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:03 pm

I got vmware and it's much better.
Cheers.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests