is ti possible to recompile kernel like linux ?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Shadowmeph

is ti possible to recompile kernel like linux ?

Post by Shadowmeph »

I am a curious Noob but am wondering if it is possible( like in Linux) to recompile the kernel so that different hard ware will work is this possible to do with this OS?
The123king

Re: is ti possible to recompile kernel like linux ?

Post by The123king »

Do you mean recompile for different architectures like PowerPC and ARM? If so, yes you can, but it doesn't necesarily mean it will work. x64 just about boots, but it doesn't load up to anything useable. Same for ARM (i think). x86 is the only architecture guaranteed to boot and run, the rest are nigh on unuseable currently.

x86 is the only architecture supported and supports drivers for Win2k or XP. You don't need to recompile it for x86, just download the drivers and you should be set.

THAT DOES NOT MEAN THE DRIVERS WILL WORK MIND YOU.
Ged
Developer

Post by Ged »

You don't need to recompile the kernel, it's fully configurable and dynamic by design.

The NT kernel is very different than the linux kernel.
Quite frankly, I find the idea of recompiling kernels absolutely insane.
bjt2

Post by bjt2 »

Ged wrote:You don't need to recompile the kernel, it's fully configurable and dynamic by design.

I don't agree...
If the version you downloaded is optimized for a standard i386, recompiling for your CPU, with specific optimizations, with a newer compiler (a future gcc release, for instance), can lead to some performance improvement.

I ever dreamed to have a system that even upon installation let you recompile all the stuff optimized for your CPU.
The current situation let you come close to this: you can make your own bootcd iso with few steps...
Haos
Test Team

Post by Haos »

The point is if the speed increase will even be noticeable.
cmoibenlepro

Post by cmoibenlepro »