Plans for Windows 3.1 16-bit subsystem?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

user222
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 1:21 pm

Post by user222 » Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:54 pm

Floyd wrote: (unfortunately when you close the app it does not close the ntvdm.exe or the wowexec.exe processes)
Here's a way to make it close automatically. Change this registry key "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\WOW\DefaultSeparateVDM" from "no" to "yes" and reboot. (It would not take effect until you reboot.)

Floyd
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 7:45 am
Location: The frozen part of the USA

Post by Floyd » Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:42 am

cyborg wrote:1. install dosemu, install win311 on it and you have completely win311.
2. install qemu. install win311 on it. same effect.
3. if it runs under WINE, it may run under reactos anyway.

some of the win32 api is based on win16. there are some very basic little applications, which are only using forms, buttons, canvas and such stuff, and they work perfectly under win32.

the problems are dos oriented win16 apps. applications, whcih try to go into hardware, try to call dos, mostly system maintenance software (and these are completely unneeded imho). such stuff is not needed anyways. most of the games in this case would run in dosemu or are simple to run in 32 bit mode, like click'n'run games. most of the system programs in this case have a win32 brother. there is just a few software around whcih would be necessary and has only win16. most of the office programs use only little parts of the winapi, which is usable under win32 too.

i think win16 has even a lower prio than linux. why? because most of the programs users fear not to be usable in reactos without win16 layer will work anyway. why? because mostly users dont really know how far win16 is needed for an application.

if you can run it under wine, you shall not fear. thats what i think.
if you install dos/win3x to run win16 apps on your computer, then they wouldn't have access to your files on the "real" machine except through a loopback network or through a floppy drive. have you ever actually attempted this? it's a pain to say the least (speaking from experience running win nt 3.51 on my xp machine). and there's no point in doing that. it is far easier, for the user, to have a win16 subsystem or wrapper. what you're suggesting is dump win16 to make it easier for the programmer; not the user.
pax mei amici amorque et Iesus sacret omnia

counting_pine
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Fallowfield

Post by counting_pine » Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:06 am

cyborg wrote:1. install dosemu, install win311 on it and you have completely win311.
2. install qemu. install win311 on it. same effect.
We can't and shouldn't expect ReactOS users to own a legal copy of Windows 3.x

MadRat
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:29 am
Contact:

Post by MadRat » Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:26 pm

counting_pine wrote:
cyborg wrote:1. install dosemu, install win311 on it and you have completely win311.
2. install qemu. install win311 on it. same effect.
We can't and shouldn't expect ReactOS users to own a legal copy of Windows 3.x
Nor expect the ROS team to develop a Win3.x clone.... :)
*************************************
Go Huskers!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 17 guests