Reactos 0.4.12 and Windows 10 Hyper-V

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
skinner36
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Reactos 0.4.12 and Windows 10 Hyper-V

Post by skinner36 » Fri Nov 08, 2019 6:02 am

Hi,

I am trying to create a virtual Reactos 0.4.12 machine using Windows 10 Pro and Hyper-V.

After creating the virtual machine I start it and a black screen with a very grey bar at the bottom displayed very briefly. After that only a black screen is displayed with the virtual machine in a state of state or running.

I have tried different settings for the creation of the virtual machine but all end up with the same result.

I am keen to test Reactos so any help would be very much appreciated

Thanks,

John

karlexceed
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Reactos 0.4.12 and Windows 10 Hyper-V

Post by karlexceed » Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:06 pm

Unfortunately, the only way to find out what might be going on is to get a log file from the VM.

In the instructions here: https://reactos.org/wiki/Hyper-V there's a mention of attaching a virtual serial port to a named pipe. Once you do this, you can follow the instructions here: https://reactos.org/wiki/VirtualBox#Get ... bug_output for an idea of how to connect with PuTTY and get the data.

Then, armed with your log file you can: https://reactos.org/wiki/File_Bugs

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4323
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: Reactos 0.4.12 and Windows 10 Hyper-V

Post by EmuandCo » Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:55 pm

Very important is that you create a V1 Hyper-V VM, otherwise you are forced to UEFI which is not fully working yet.
Image
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

skinner36
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Reactos 0.4.12 and Windows 10 Hyper-V

Post by skinner36 » Sat Nov 09, 2019 1:52 am

Thank you for the replies.

karlexceed, I had a look at the page regarding debugging a virtual machine but in my case I don't have a virtual machine installed yet to turn the debugger on.

EmuandCo, I deleted the network card, SCSI device and hard disk and recreated it again as a vhd. I also made sure that it was a V1 virtual machine. All with no luck

skinner36
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Reactos 0.4.12 and Windows 10 Hyper-V

Post by skinner36 » Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:10 am

Hi,

I gave up on this as getting it working with Hyper-v wasn't my primary objective. I used Virtualbox and it worked like a charm

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests