Feedback: VB6 installation fails at ACMBOOT.EXE 0.3.16

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
dizt3mp3r
Posts: 1097
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:54 pm

Feedback: VB6 installation fails at ACMBOOT.EXE 0.3.16

Post by dizt3mp3r » Tue Feb 25, 2014 1:02 pm

Testing VB6 enterprise installation on ReactOS 0.3.16 generates an error on ACMBOOT.EXE.

Log file linked here:

http://lightquick.co.uk/images/stories/reactos-vb6.log

VB6 is one of my main drivers for wanting ReactOS. A platform where VB6 functions (runs programs and allows the IDE to function) means legacy apps have a stable and supported platform that will reliably be in existence even when MS destroys its own windows ability to support VB6 apps. in the future.

Image

Webunny
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:30 pm

Re: Feedback: VB6 installation fails at ACMBOOT.EXE 0.3.16

Post by Webunny » Wed Feb 26, 2014 12:53 am

dizt3mp3r wrote:Testing VB6 enterprise installation on ReactOS 0.3.16 generates an error on ACMBOOT.EXE.

Log file linked here:

http://lightquick.co.uk/images/stories/reactos-vb6.log

VB6 is one of my main drivers for wanting ReactOS. A platform where VB6 functions (runs programs and allows the IDE to function) means legacy apps have a stable and supported platform that will reliably be in existence even when MS destroys its own windows ability to support VB6 apps. in the future.

Image
Did it used to run well on other builds or releases, like the 0.3.15?

Or is it just something that *still* doesn't work on 0.3.16, you mean? (aka, is it a long standing bug or a regression?)


oldman
Posts: 979
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: Feedback: VB6 installation fails at ACMBOOT.EXE 0.3.16

Post by oldman » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:13 am

dizt3mp3r,
I would suggest you down-load and try trunk builds from here https://www.reactos.org/getbuilds and see if that shows an improvement.
They are now more advanced, code wise, than 0.3.16 release.
You can keep your Virtual Machines - I test in real hardware!
Please keep the Windows classic (9x/2000) look and feel.
A layman's guide - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - complementary scripts.


milon
Posts: 963
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:26 pm

Re: Feedback: VB6 installation fails at ACMBOOT.EXE 0.3.16

Post by milon » Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:47 pm

Then post in JIRA as a new bug, or comment on an existing one if it already exists.

MadWolf
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: Feedback: VB6 installation fails at ACMBOOT.EXE 0.3.16

Post by MadWolf » Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:01 am

hi
vb6 runtime redistributable is a self-extracting executable to install on reactos you need on the host os extract the files to a temp folder and delete W95INF32.DLL W95INF16.DLL vbrun60.inf
rename ADVPACK.DLL to ADVPACK.DLL.old
mount the React OS virtual drive file

copy olepro32.dll to \ReactOS\ReactOS\system32
copy stdole2.tlb to \ReactOS\ReactOS\system32
copy oleaut32.dll to \ReactOS\ReactOS\system32
copy ADVPACK.DLL.old to \ReactOS\ReactOS\system32
copy asycfilt.dll to \ReactOS\ReactOS\system32
copy comcat.dll to \ReactOS\ReactOS\system32
copy msvbvm60.dll to \ReactOS\ReactOS\system32

or make a self-extracting executable

i do not know if the ide works

dizt3mp3r
Posts: 1097
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:54 pm

Re: Feedback: VB6 installation fails at ACMBOOT.EXE 0.3.16

Post by dizt3mp3r » Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:25 am

That's great you managed to install the runtime. Have you tried firing up any programs that use the runtime?

The IDE does not even install as shown above let alone run, though I could just try moving all the files over by hand as you have done. I will give that a go.

MadWolf
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: Feedback: VB6 installation fails at ACMBOOT.EXE 0.3.16

Post by MadWolf » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:23 pm

hi
the test programs i have made in vb6 work but they are very simple and i do not know any programs that use vb6 run-times to test

edit
http://fatalerrordoom.blogspot.co.uk/20 ... blems.html
For some reason, when I try to install Visual Studio 6.0, I encounter an error that states that "acmboot.exe is damaged". Is there a way to fix this problem, or do I need to get my install disc for this program replaced?

********* SOLUTION **********
Error Launching D:\....\acmboot.exe.
1. make a copy of your installation cd in your hard drive
2. make a copy of the setup/VS98ENT.STF and name it acmsetup.STF
3. copy entire content of setup/ to previous folder (the one that has acmboot.exe file)
4. modify acmsetup.stf with acost.exe as you require and save it.
5. run acmsetup.exe instead of setup (the one that's on the same path as acmboot.exe)
6. voala, that's it, your visual studio 6.0 will be installed.


MadWolf
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: Feedback: VB6 installation fails at ACMBOOT.EXE 0.3.16

Post by MadWolf » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:34 pm

dizt3mp3r wrote:I'll give that a go - how did you figure that one out?
Google is your friend
vb5 Control Creation Edition runs on Reactos
Image
A free, downloadable Control Creation Edition was also released for creation of ActiveX controls. It was also used as an introductory form of Visual Basic: a regular .exe project could be created and run in the IDE, but not compiled.
https://sites.google.com/site/vbclassic ... on-edition

counting_pine
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Fallowfield

Re: Feedback: VB6 installation fails at ACMBOOT.EXE 0.3.16

Post by counting_pine » Sun May 11, 2014 4:19 am

MadWolf wrote:http://fatalerrordoom.blogspot.co.uk/20 ... blems.html
For some reason, when I try to install Visual Studio 6.0, I encounter an error that states that "acmboot.exe is damaged". Is there a way to fix this problem, or do I need to get my install disc for this program replaced?

********* SOLUTION **********
Error Launching D:\....\acmboot.exe.
1. make a copy of your installation cd in your hard drive
2. make a copy of the setup/VS98ENT.STF and name it acmsetup.STF
3. copy entire content of setup/ to previous folder (the one that has acmboot.exe file)
4. modify acmsetup.stf with acost.exe as you require and save it.
5. run acmsetup.exe instead of setup (the one that's on the same path as acmboot.exe)
6. voala, that's it, your visual studio 6.0 will be installed.
The above solution approximately works for me with the VB6 Working Model Edition (using VB98WKM.STF) on 0.3.16. I skipped the acost.exe step.
I did have to run SETUP.EXE before ACMSETUP.EXE though, otherwise I got an error message saying I must run the Installation Wizard before running this setup.
During the install it fails to open C:\ReactOS\System32\ODBCCP32.DLL, but you can ignore it and setup will continue. Then wpie15.exe can't find the entry point CM_Get_DevNode_Status_ex in setupapi.dll. It crashes with an instruction 0x77f2cb83 referencing 0x0000002c. The software seems to have installed OK though..

On loading it up, it can just about compile and run with Ctrl-F5, but there's lots of graphical oddities and editing code is near impossible.
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests