Page 1 of 1

[App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 4:14 pm
by gonzalognzl
Hi all,

I'm setting up ReactOS 0.4.4 for the first time. Installation process was successful at first sight.

At the Application Manager, when I choose a category on the left, a downloading window apperas but then stops with a message error about failing to pass SSL certificates.

I'm working within an old PC with Pentium 4, AsRock motherboard, no usb devices connected. Internet access is working fine through default Wine IE browser, I just set up my proxy following this document: https://www.reactos.org/wiki/Techwiki:Networking

I didn't find other posts on this forum about this issue.

I'd appreciate any help. Thanks in advance!

Re: [App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:39 pm
by quad
I'm also experiencing this problem and I've reproduced it on both qemu and Hyper-V. I'm unable to update the software database, due to SSL verification failing:

Image

Checking the actual SSL certificate for svn.reactos.org it seems to have been renewed on the 17th. Or in other words 3 days prior to this thread starting.

Image

Re: [App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:08 pm
by EmuandCo
Search function is your best friend.
https://jira.reactos.org/browse/CORE-14350

Re: [App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:15 pm
by quad
EmuandCo wrote:Search function is your best friend.
https://jira.reactos.org/browse/CORE-14350
Ah, thanks. I just tried googlig stuff like "ReactOS Application Manager SSL" and all I found was this blog post.
Is it possible to make it work with 0.4.7 somehow or do I need to download a daily snapshot to fix this? Since 0.4.8 is probably a couple months away

Re: [App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:29 pm
by JoesRoom
So, is there any workaround for this yet? That Jira page does nothing other than acknowledge an issue. I am seeing the error on 0.4.7 and 0.4.5

Thanks.

Re: [App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:42 pm
by quad
JoesRoom wrote:That Jira page does nothing other than acknowledge an issue.
It's actually marked as resolved. If you're willing to run one of the daily builds, that should work as far as I've understood.

Re: [App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:50 pm
by JoesRoom
quad wrote:
JoesRoom wrote:That Jira page does nothing other than acknowledge an issue.
It's actually marked as resolved. If you're willing to run one of the daily builds, that should work as far as I've understood.
Thanks I'll take a look at that.

Re: [App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:23 pm
by JoesRoom
0.4.9 Nightly does indeed have a functioning App Manager!

Re: [App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:07 am
by milon
quad wrote:
EmuandCo wrote:Search function is your best friend.
https://jira.reactos.org/browse/CORE-14350
Ah, thanks. I just tried googlig stuff like "ReactOS Application Manager SSL" and all I found was this blog post.
Is it possible to make it work with 0.4.7 somehow or do I need to download a daily snapshot to fix this? Since 0.4.8 is probably a couple months away
Not without replacing or recompiling the affected libraries, no I don't think so. But you're not using ReactOS in any production environments, right? ;)

Re: [App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:19 am
by quad
milon wrote:
quad wrote:
EmuandCo wrote:Search function is your best friend.
https://jira.reactos.org/browse/CORE-14350
Ah, thanks. I just tried googlig stuff like "ReactOS Application Manager SSL" and all I found was this blog post.
Is it possible to make it work with 0.4.7 somehow or do I need to download a daily snapshot to fix this? Since 0.4.8 is probably a couple months away
Not without replacing or recompiling the affected libraries, no I don't think so. But you're not using ReactOS in any production environments, right? ;)
Not yet ;)
I run it on a laptop I have lying around and put some old Windows 95/98 era games on it. Would just be a slight hassle to reinstall those

Re: [App Manager] SSL Fail

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:34 pm
by Tux-
Here's the link to the fixed RAPPS if you cba to reinstall:

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... /rapps.exe