Problems with form text boxes

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
tmcox1242
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 6:24 am

Problems with form text boxes

Post by tmcox1242 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 6:32 am

I was able to get ReactOS up and running quite quickly and it seems to be working great. I installed this on a Hyper-V VM using the iso file downloaded from this site. I primarily wanted to test out running older windows games (specifically The Sims) on ReactOS and ran into a problem during installation. The game asks for a serial number to be entered in order to install it. 4 text boxes are provided, each expecting a specific number of characters: 4-7-7-4. On Windows, I type 4 characters, it jumps to the next text box, I enter 7 and so on and so forth. In ReactOS, the first text box only accepts 3 characters. In fact, each box only accepts one less character than what is required by the game to install (3-6-6-3). I am not sure if this is an issue with the form boxes themselves or with how the game is specifically reacting with ReactOS, but regardless, it seems to be a bug.

dizt3mp3r
Posts: 1450
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:54 pm

Re: Problems with form text boxes

Post by dizt3mp3r » Sat Sep 08, 2018 11:04 am

We have a system called JIRA for raising bugs. Check if anything like that exists already before you raise a new bug. Also search the forum.

Be aware that ReactOS is not fit yet for USE but only for testing. Having said that keep testing!

binarymaster
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Re: Problems with form text boxes

Post by binarymaster » Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:46 pm

tmcox1242 wrote:
Sat Sep 08, 2018 6:32 am
I was able to get ReactOS up and running quite quickly and it seems to be working great. I installed this on a Hyper-V VM using the iso file downloaded from this site. I primarily wanted to test out running older windows games (specifically The Sims) on ReactOS and ran into a problem during installation. The game asks for a serial number to be entered in order to install it. 4 text boxes are provided, each expecting a specific number of characters: 4-7-7-4. On Windows, I type 4 characters, it jumps to the next text box, I enter 7 and so on and so forth. In ReactOS, the first text box only accepts 3 characters. In fact, each box only accepts one less character than what is required by the game to install (3-6-6-3). I am not sure if this is an issue with the form boxes themselves or with how the game is specifically reacting with ReactOS, but regardless, it seems to be a bug.
See CORE-1091 and related tickets. You also may open a new ticket and link it with that one.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest