booting react os from (hd3) in grub

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
boogerman
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:25 pm
Contact:

booting react os from (hd3) in grub

Post by boogerman » Wed Jan 19, 2005 5:29 am

Hi, this is a little different from what I've seen so far. I have react os on the slave drive of the second IDE cable, which I tink is (hd3). However it didn't work. Knowing that I had to map my windows hard drive to thing that it was the first, I tried mapping it, which didn't do anything. I've tried to point it to (hd3) to load it's boot loader, and (hd3,0) to load the OS it's self, but all it says is that it is an invalid device. However it is recognized fine by bothe windows an linux and boots fine when I swap around the cables. Currently, my grub.cng is:

Code: Select all

title=gentoo (2.6.10-gentoo-r1)
        root (hd0,0)
        kernel /kernel-2.6.10-gentoo-r1
        root=(hd0,1)
title=gentoo (2.6.10-gentoo-r4)
        root (hd0,0)
        kernel /kernel-2.6.10-gentoo-r4
        root=(hd0,1)
title=gentoo (2.4.26-gentoo-r14)
        root (hd0,0)
        kernel /kernel-2.4.26-gentoo-r14
        root=(hd0,1)
title=React OS
        map (hd0) (hd3)
        map (hd3) (hd0)
        rootnoverify (hd3)
        makeactive
        chainloader +1
title=Wndows XP
        lock
        map (hd0) (hd1)
        map (hd1) (hd0)
        rootnoverify (hd1,0)
        makeactive
        chainloader +1
If anyone at all has any insite please help. I'm getting tired of swapping cables t boot it. Thanks

Denzil
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 1:01 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by Denzil » Wed Jan 19, 2005 9:19 am

rootnoverify (hd3)
I guess you should try rootnoverify (hd3,0)

GvG
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by GvG » Wed Jan 19, 2005 9:32 am

Try:

title=React OS
root (hd3,0)
kernel /freeldr.sys

Our bootloader (freeldr.sys) can be loaded by Grub as a "kernel".

boogerman
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:25 pm
Contact:

Post by boogerman » Wed Jan 19, 2005 3:18 pm

Actually, I guess I just didn't spend enough time fulling with it. Aparently what it was looking for was hd2 instead of hd3. I guess it was counting the hard drives instead of IDE devices. Thanks.

boogerman
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:25 pm
Contact:

Post by boogerman » Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:59 pm

Boogerman says this feeling sheepish and slightly stupid:
I'm got Grub to load the React OS boot loader, but of course, as I have moved the drive, it doesn't point to the right place, and there asre five or some odd catagories in the conf file. I honestly have no clue what they mean, most bootloaders have only two things to specify. Can anyone tell me what they mean, I've experimented with the file and the special boot option, but have not had any luck.
Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yeti [Bot] and 2 guests