Out-of-memory/ Other install methods

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Quigs
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:24 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Out-of-memory/ Other install methods

Post by Quigs » Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:40 am

Got a old computer to try ROS on real hardware...
All ROS cds give me a out of memory error, in fact Windows 98/95 did too, but they let me bypass it using an ignore memory switch to let me install them.

Anything similar for ROS?

Currently I have 98 installed, and ROS files copied from the CD on the hard drive, there has got to be a way for me to get it installed!

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Gasmann » Wed Feb 02, 2005 7:51 pm

Take a look at the ReactOS system requirements

Even when you bypass it I doubt it would work with too less ram cause it has no swap-support yet.

Quigs
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:24 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by Quigs » Wed Feb 02, 2005 8:18 pm

its got 48 mb of ram
I think it might mis report it during boot time.
Is it still or was it ever possible to run ROS from DOS?

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Gasmann » Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:42 pm

Quigs wrote:its got 48 mb of ram
I think it might mis report it during boot time.
Is it still or was it ever possible to run ROS from DOS?
It was possible using a boot.bat but doesn't work anymore.
However I can't really understand how it could complain if you have 48mb which is enough. :roll:

Quigs
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:24 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by Quigs » Thu Feb 03, 2005 11:17 pm

Can I somehow get boot.bat back and have it magically work? :lol:
I really want to run ROS on real hardware... :(

uniQ
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:58 am

Post by uniQ » Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:28 am

Can you say exactly why, where, when and how you get this error? Maybe get a pic if possible? Also, does the BIOS see all 48MB? Does Memtest find any errors? Can you reduce it to 32MB and see if that works?

-uniQ
Coming on, coming up, let me help ROS and I'll be able to look @ a life well used.

Quigs
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:24 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by Quigs » Fri Feb 04, 2005 2:52 am

more details..

"OS Load in Progress...


Memory allocation failed: out of memory.
Press any key <pressed>
Error opening freeldr.ini or file not found.
You need to re-install Freeloader.
Press any key to reboot. <pressed>

<it repeats... Im thinking the bios figured out if failed and told it to run again>

BIOS doesnt even have boot options....:(
its an HP, 233Mhz gonna hopefully find a BIOS update to fix this.

Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

24M Installs well in qemu

Post by Jaix » Mon Feb 14, 2005 4:41 pm

Hello, I have successufully installed and run ROS in qemu with mem-swich decreased to 24M

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 13 guests