problem on install

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
cjulio
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:54 pm

problem on install

Post by cjulio » Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:09 pm

im am trying to install ReactOS in a old machin with ReactOS as a single OS is this possible if yes wi do i get the foloing message:

invalid partition table magic 0xff84 found on drive 0x9f

i have tried making a partition with win98
i have tried with no partition
i have tried formating with win98

what am i doing rong

Meklort
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: problem on install

Post by Meklort » Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:18 pm

cjulio wrote:im am trying to install ReactOS in a old machin with ReactOS as a single OS is this possible if yes wi do i get the foloing message:

invalid partition table magic 0xff84 found on drive 0x9f

i have tried making a partition with win98
i have tried with no partition
i have tried formating with win98

what am i doing rong
Can you tell us when you get the error message (during instal cd's boot / during reading of the partition table / during writing the partition table / installing / ect.)
One thing might be if you have another partition (not sure why it would matter) that Reactos cant identify, or is not formatted correctly.

cjulio
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:54 pm

Post by cjulio » Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:21 pm

the error gives when i boot from the cdrom it is the second line that apears after deteting hardware

Meklort
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by Meklort » Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:22 pm

cjulio wrote:the error gives when i boot from the cdrom it is the second line that apears after deteting hardware
As far as i can tell, it seams to be somthing with some kind of strage device, could you posibly try a different harddrove / cd drive?

cjulio
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:54 pm

Post by cjulio » Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:54 pm

i have tried in another computer and it works but now my mouse goues crazy i cant wotk with the OS

cjulio
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:54 pm

Post by cjulio » Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:37 pm

now i have changed the mouse from ps2 to serial an it is ok but now my problem is when i go to the screen properties and to advanced it does not work and the window blocks

frik85
Developer
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:48 pm
Location: Austria, Europe
Contact:

Post by frik85 » Tue Apr 05, 2005 7:51 pm

cjulio wrote:now i have changed the mouse from ps2 to serial an it is ok but now my problem is when i go to the screen properties and to advanced it does not work and the window blocks
unimplemented feature :wink:

Drs
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 1:17 am
Contact:

Post by Drs » Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:46 pm

Hi,

Can you give us more details about the machine that gave you that FreeLdr error? What kind of motherboard and chipset etc. It could also be a problem with the CHS reading code in Freeldr. LBA usually has no problem but CHS can be tricky for old machines.

Thanks.
--
Devin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], DotBot [Crawler] and 8 guests