Networking in VirtualBox

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
mrfrisky330
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:15 pm

Networking in VirtualBox

Post by mrfrisky330 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:55 am

Hello!

I downloaded the VM for 4.05, but I can't use the VirtualBox "internal network". The virtual machine has an AMD network card as default but I cannot connect via the Control Panel->System to the virtual domain??

Did try and use the Intel Pro 1000MT network card but the XP drivers would not install as ReactOS didn't even detect the INF file!

If it is possible to get the networking to work with ReactOS in VirtualBox I was looking to roll it out to some actual users for testing :)
Is this possible or is it still in development?

oldman
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: Networking in VirtualBox

Post by oldman » Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:44 pm

From this topic viewtopic.php?f=2&t=16489 in General Discussion and Feedback.
Re: virtualbox virtual machine dont connect to internet

Postby MadWolf » 13 Jun 2017 01:12
hi
to get networking to work in Reactos
select your Reactos vm from the list -> click settings -> click network ->expand advanced -> change adapter type PCnet-fast III (am79c973) -> click OK
Please keep the Windows classic (9x/2000) look and feel.
The layman's guides to - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - with some complementary scripts.
They may help you with a problem, so do have a look at them.

mrfrisky330
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:15 pm

Re: Networking in VirtualBox

Post by mrfrisky330 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:38 pm

Did that changed adapter type too PCnet-fast III (am79c973), no message asking for a driver, in the device manager its working.

However if I try and connect to the domain via the Control Panel->System->Change button as soon as I type in the domain name click the Ok button it reverts back too WORKGROUP.

Is this indicating LAN networking is not yet implemented?

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Networking in VirtualBox

Post by Blackcrack » Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:06 pm

Hi, try this :

this is an inofficial pack where update and install vb++ and other files in your reactos and install programming ide also.
have fun :)
(zipped iso for your 2nd virtualbox CDrom ;) )
Reactos-test-packs-15.06.2017-5.5.zip (453 MB)

it's also good if you have a notebook and want not download so many, also the wine-gecko-pack it is include, so do you not need download by install the gecko-package

best regards
Blacky

mrfrisky330
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:15 pm

Re: Networking in VirtualBox

Post by mrfrisky330 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:57 pm

Thanks for that!

Installation nearly worked, then a blue screen of death saying:

MEMORY_MANAGEMENT

If this is the first time you've seen this Stop error screen, restart your computer.....

STOP: 0x0000001A

So close!

mrfrisky330
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:15 pm

Re: Networking in VirtualBox

Post by mrfrisky330 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:28 pm

Tried a second installation - worked!

However still cannot change the computer from WORKGROUP to the domain, it seems the System Control Panel applet doesn't save any settings. Clicking the network icon in taskbar allowed me to set the IP address, and I can ping the virtual server, but alas that seems to be the limit of how far into LAN I can access in this version.

Still no real complaints just excited as too what 4.06 will deliver!

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Networking in VirtualBox

Post by Blackcrack » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:33 pm

mrfrisky330 wrote:Thanks for that!

Installation nearly worked, then a blue screen of death saying:

MEMORY_MANAGEMENT

If this is the first time you've seen this Stop error screen, restart your computer.....

STOP: 0x0000001A

So close!
did you using a daily build ?
Head Page of Reactos.org, right sided "Daily Builds"
=> click on it -> Download here !
then do you comes to this screen :
https://reactos.org/getbuilds/
i have testet today it with Build 75044 , you can klick on the "<" go builds more deep
or you can also type in the textfild "75030-75049" then it is show to you, all builds between
75030-75049. Inside of the 7z be the iso's whjere can you also use to testing the daily builds
every day or all 5/10 day's..

edit: pretty good, :) don't forget, reactos it is in the Alpha Stage in Direction of Beta .. but still Alpha ;)

best regards
Blacky

ThFabba
Developer
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:39 am

Re: Networking in VirtualBox

Post by ThFabba » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:01 pm

ReactOS doesn't support Active Directory so you can't join your machine to a domain. The GUI is unfortunately just a dummy, which -- as you noticed -- doesn't save its settings.
And remember that selecting "Internal Network" in VirtualBox means your machine won't have network access to anywhere. The setting recommended for most people is NAT.
Basic networking in VirtualBox (using the PCnet-III card) should work out of the box and you should be able to use the Application Manager and/or install a browser if you so desire.

Edit: also, no, don't roll out ReactOS to users. It is in alpha stage and under heavy development, and is not ready for any real life computing scenarios.

hbelusca
Developer
Posts: 1126
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Networking in VirtualBox

Post by hbelusca » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:39 pm

ThFabba wrote:Edit: also, no, don't roll out ReactOS to users. It is in alpha stage and under heavy development, and is not ready for any real life computing scenarios.
I didn't know we were already at version 4.x. I may have hibernated for quite a long time and woken up in year 2097...

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Networking in VirtualBox

Post by Blackcrack » Fri Jun 16, 2017 7:39 am

hbelusca wrote: I didn't know we were already at version 4.x. I may have hibernated for quite a long time and woken up in year 2097...
*looolllll* *thumps up * *!verybridegrin!*
cool !

*lol*

best regards
blacky

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DotBot [Crawler] and 0 guests